Advertisement

Best Vocal Mic for the $$

topic posted Wed, July 6, 2005 - 4:46 PM by  Moons**
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hello Everybody~

Wondering what vocal mics people are into. I am not really an engineer per se, just a songwriter doing some home recordings. Can anyone recommend good vocal mics that go for around $500 or so? Thankya~

Moons**
posted by:
Moons**
Chicago
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

Re: Best Vocal Mic for the $$

Fri, August 12, 2005 - 1:45 PM
    Don't forget to consider the preamp you're using, IMHO the 2nd most important part of that chain.
    • Re: Best Vocal Mic for the $$

Mon, October 31, 2005 - 8:19 PM
      Rode mics are well respected and they have a couple out there well inside the $500USD range... The NT-1A and NT-2s are both quite good sounding for vocals as well as good all around.... Electronic Musician mag rated the NT-1 an "editors choice" mic in '99 and '03 {I think}....
      I am sure that there many other good ones but I have used the Rode 1st hand and always been impressed...

Wed, November 2, 2005 - 7:09 AM
        I too like the Rodes for the $. NTK or NT-1 . Also in the under 500.00 I've used a lot of CADs E-100 or better yet the E-200.

Wed, November 16, 2005 - 4:12 PM
          While definetly not on the low end price wise, we bought a Soundelux U99 for 2150.00 and absolutely love it, Phat as all hell! I found myself using less eq and less verb to get vocals to sit in the mix, definetly worth the money!

Fri, January 27, 2006 - 6:41 PM
      My studio partner rattled my ear about spending so much on a Bluebird mic and Focusrite VocalMaster preamp. This week I gave it a good workout recording a solo voice chanting. There is no noticable noisefloor with 24 bit digital out. I'm blown away and the singer (30 years experience) said it was the best he's heard. The vocal ensemble I previously recorded, also raved and it did wonders for cedar flutes.

Mon, November 21, 2005 - 8:18 AM